

Economy, Communities and Corporate

Geoff Hughes - Director

TO: ALL MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

Our Ref: Council - 23 May 2014

Please ask for: Governance Services

Direct Line / Extension: (01432) 260249

E-mail: councillorservices@herefordshire.gov.uk

15 May 2014

Dear Councillor,

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED to attend the meeting of the Herefordshire Council to be held on Friday 23 May 2014 at the Shirehall, St Peter Square, Hereford at 9.00 am at which the business set out in the attached agenda is proposed to be transacted.

Please note that car parking at the Shirehall will limited because of ongoing building works and the need to reserve a number of places for invited guests.

Whilst wi-fi should be available at the Shirehall Members are requested to download the agenda in advance of the meeting.

Yours sincerely

Bill Norman

BILL NORMAN SOLICITOR TO THE COUNCIL



AGENDA

Council

Date: Friday 23 May 2014

Time: **9.00 am**

Place: Shirehall, St Peter Square, Hereford

Notes: Please note the **time**, **date** and **venue** of the meeting.

For any further information please contact:

Governance Services

Tel: 01432 260249

Email: councillorservices@herefordshire.gov.uk

If you would like help to understand this document, or would like it in another format or language, please call Governance Services on 01432 260249 or e-mail councillorservices@herefordshire.gov.uk in advance of the meeting.

Agenda for the Meeting of the Council

Membership

Chairman Vice-Chairman

Councillor LO Barnett Councillor ACR Chappell

Councillor PA Andrews
Councillor CNH Attwood
Councillor PL Bettington
Councillor WLS Bowen
Councillor AN Bridges
Councillor MJK Cooper
Councillor BA Durkin
Councillor DW Greenow
Councillor J Hardwick
Councillor JW Hope MBE
Councillor JA Hyde
Councillor JG Jarvis

Councillor Brig P Jones CBE

Councillor JF Knipe

Councillor MD Lloyd-Hayes

Councillor RL Mayo
Councillor SM Michael
Councillor PM Morgan
Councillor C Nicholls
Councillor J Norris
Councillor RJ Phillips
Councillor AJW Powers
Councillor PD Price
Councillor P Rone

Councillor P Sinclair-Knipe Councillor GR Swinford

Councillor GA Vaughan-Powell

Councillor AM Atkinson Councillor CM Bartrum Councillor AJM Blackshaw

Councillor H Bramer Councillor EMK Chave Councillor PGH Cutter Councillor PJ Edwards Councillor KS Guthrie Councillor EPJ Harvey Councillor MAF Hubbard Councillor TM James Councillor AW Johnson Councillor JLV Kenyon Councillor JG Lester Councillor RI Matthews Councillor PJ McCaull Councillor JW Millar Councillor NP Nenadich Councillor FM Norman Councillor CA North Councillor GJ Powell Councillor R Preece Councillor SJ Robertson Councillor A Seldon Councillor J Stone Councillor DC Taylor

Councillor DB Wilcox

will start at 10:30 am.

AGENDA

		Pages
1.	ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN	
	To elect the Chairman of the Council.	
2.	APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN	
	To appoint the Vice-Chairman of the Council.	
	Prayers	
3.	APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE	
	To receive apologies for absence.	
4.	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST	
	To receive any declarations of interest by Members in respect of items on the Agenda.	
5.	MINUTES	13 - 36
	To approve and sign the Minutes of the meeting held on 7 March 2014.	
6.	CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENTS	37 - 38
	To receive the Chairman's announcements and petitions from members of the public.	
7.	ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL	
	To elect the Leader of the Council.	
8.	APPOINTMENTS TO COUNCIL COMMITTEES AND OUTSIDE BODIES	39 - 46
	To make appointments to the committees of the council and outside bodies in line with the rules of political proportionality and to consider the membership of the Independent Remuneration Panel.	
	Please note that the Council will be asked under this item to approve alternative arrangements to strict political proportionality for appointments to Committees and other bodies in accordance with Regulation 20 of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990.	
9.	DATES OF FUTURE MEETINGS	
	To approve the programme of meetings of the Council for 2014/15:	
	18 July 2014	
	26 September 2014	
	12 December 2014	
	6 February 2015	
	6 March 2015	
	24 April 2015	
	22 May 2015	
	All meetings will start at 10:00 am except for the annual meeting in May which	